Skip to main content
Live Webcast Replay

Building Flexible Budgeting Models: Walking Through and Crunching The Numbers


Total Credits: 2 including 2 Accounting - Technical

Average Rating:
Not yet rated
Categories:
Accounting and Auditing |  Personal Development |  ACPEN Industry Institute
Faculty:
Bob Mims, CPA
Course Levels:
Intermediate
Duration:
2 Hours
License:
Product Setting: Expires 30 day(s) after program date.

Dates
Please Note: Programs with a ☾ insignia begin after 5pm or air on the weekend.


Description

The budgeting process can be a time consuming and frustrating process for accountants.  The constraints and pressures can lead to poor decisions in both the technical and human components.  This session will cover:

Building Flexible Budgeting Models: Walking Through and Crunching The Numbers

•    We can all learn from others and improve our budgeting process by listening to our colleagues’ wisdom and experience.  This session takes a unique review of the fundamental budget issues faced by all and walks through a detailed modeling process intended to generate discussion and best practices to improve your organization’s financial planning. 

Basic Course Information

Learning Objectives
  • Define the budget process
    • Understand varying budget cultures and choosing the right one for your organization
    • Walk through a 12-step cure for the typical Budgetaholic
    • Use Balanced Scorecard Budgeting
  • How to build a model that works
    • How the right Chart of Accounts can simplify your work 
    • Building a volume sensitive model
    • Budgeting to GAAP and for Board understanding
    • Efficiently modeling payroll and benefits
    • Identifying controllable and uncontrollable expenses
    • Using variables to stress test your budget
  • Understanding core personality types
    • Learning the type of person you are
    • Managing and coping with the budget team
    • Dealing with A, B and C players
    • Connecting through disconnection
  • Identifying the ‘big picture” and your communications role 
    • Communicating so others can understand us
    • Understanding a presentation’s anatomy 
    • Tips and tricks for budget presentation

Major Subjects
  • Budget defining,
  • Budget cultures
  • Tacticle budget issues
  • Ideas for budget solutions and process solutions
  • Understanding people in the budget process
  • Communicating your budget to non financial types

Course Materials

Faculty

Bob Mims, CPA's Profile

Bob Mims, CPA Related Seminars and Products


Bob Mims, CPA, is an entrepreneur and accounting/management executive based in Memphis, TN. He has served as a financial consultant across various industries in the role of planning, modeling and CFO capacities.  Bob has had the privilege of serving as chair on an AICPA committee and on two FASB advisory committees.  During his ten years with the accounting firm KPMG, he was selected national instructor of the year on three occasions. 
Bob graduated from the University of Mississippi, and enjoys outdoor sports with his wife, 5 children, 2 service dogs, and a 20-pound cat named ‘Squirt’.
 


Dates

Thu, Apr 18, 2024 - 06:00am to 07:49am AKDT
Wed, May 08, 2024 - 08:00am to 09:49am AKDT
Mon, May 20, 2024 - 10:00am to 11:49am AKDT
Sat, Jun 01, 2024 - 07:00am to 08:49am AKDT
Mon, Jun 03, 2024 - 11:00am to 12:49pm AKDT
Wed, Jun 19, 2024 - 06:00am to 07:49am AKDT
Thu, Jun 27, 2024 - 08:00am to 09:49am AKDT
Thu, Jul 25, 2024 - 03:00pm to 04:49pm AKDT
Thu, Aug 08, 2024 - 06:00am to 07:49am AKDT
Mon, Aug 19, 2024 - 08:00am to 09:49am AKDT
Thu, Sep 05, 2024 - 10:00am to 11:49am AKDT
Fri, Sep 20, 2024 - 11:00am to 12:49pm AKDT
Fri, Oct 04, 2024 - 06:00am to 07:49am AKDT
Tue, Oct 22, 2024 - 02:00pm to 03:49pm AKDT
Sat, Oct 26, 2024 - 06:00am to 07:49am AKDT
Fri, Nov 08, 2024 - 10:00am to 11:49am AKST
Tue, Nov 19, 2024 - 11:00am to 12:49pm AKST
Wed, Dec 04, 2024 - 06:00am to 07:49am AKST
Thu, Dec 12, 2024 - 02:00pm to 03:49pm AKST
Sat, Dec 14, 2024 - 06:00am to 07:49am AKST
Fri, Dec 20, 2024 - 10:00am to 11:49am AKST
Mon, Jan 13, 2025 - 07:00am to 08:49am AKST
Fri, Jan 24, 2025 - 09:00am to 10:49am AKST
Thu, Feb 06, 2025 - 03:00pm to 04:49pm AKST
Tue, Feb 18, 2025 - 05:00am to 06:49am AKST
Thu, Mar 13, 2025 - 07:00am to 08:49am AKDT
Wed, Mar 26, 2025 - 09:00am to 10:49am AKDT
Thu, Apr 03, 2025 - 11:00am to 12:49pm AKDT
Sat, Apr 12, 2025 - 07:00am to 08:49am AKDT
Fri, Apr 18, 2025 - 05:00am to 06:49am AKDT
Wed, May 14, 2025 - 07:00am to 08:49am AKDT
Thu, May 29, 2025 - 09:00am to 10:49am AKDT
Tue, Jun 03, 2025 - 11:00am to 12:49pm AKDT
Fri, Jun 13, 2025 - 05:00am to 06:49am AKDT
Sat, Jun 14, 2025 - 07:00am to 08:49am AKDT
Thu, Jun 26, 2025 - 03:00pm to 04:49pm AKDT

Additional Info

Basic Course Information

Prerequisites None
Advanced Preparation None
Designed For Current and aspiring CFO's and Controllers and/or Finance related professionals involved in teh budget process
Original Recording Date 08/08/2022
Course Developer The Knowledge Institute
Date Added to Catalog 08/02/2022
Yellow Book No

Additional Information

Complaint Resolution Policy

Please contact Anne Taylor for any complaints. anne.taylor@acpen.com, (972-377-8199). 


Official Registry Statement

Business Professionals' Network, Inc. is registered with the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA) as a sponsor of continuing professional education on the National Registry of CPE Sponsors. State boards of accountancy have final authority on the acceptance of individual courses for CPE credit. Complaints regarding registered sponsors may be submitted to the National Registry of CPE Sponsors through its website: www.nasbaregistry.org


Instructional Delivery Method

Group Internet Based


Course Registration Requirements

Online Registration


Refund/Cancellation Policy

Please contact the ACPEN help desk 1-877-602-9877 or help@acpen.com if you wish to cancel your attendance for a previously purchased webcast and are requesting a refund or transfer. 


Promo Video

Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

Overall:   Not yet rated

Total Reviews: 31

Comments

Krista R - Leesville, Louisiana

"A very easy listening and informative class."

Anna L

"Great training. Allocation discussion was very relevant and useful to me."