Skip to main content
Live Webcast Replay

5 Steps to Cultivate a Values-Based Approach to Governance


Total Credits: 1.2 including 1.2 Personnel/Human Resources - Non-technical

Average Rating:
   11
Categories:
Human Resources
Faculty:
Charla Welch
Course Levels:
All Levels
Duration:
1.2 Hours
License:
Product Setting: Expires 30 day(s) after program date.

Dates
Please Note: Programs with a ☾ insignia begin after 5pm or air on the weekend.


Description

Emerging from the pandemic is a workplace culture governed by values. Far from a soft approach, it can drive significant business results. Organizations that embrace an empathetic culture increase performance and decrease turnover, while their customers report a more positive experience. Additionally, being more “person-focused” strongly correlates with more effective ethics and compliance programs. These insights can provide a roadmap for the "new normal" as the world emerges from the crisis. How employees and management move forward from this experience will shape the workplace for decades to come.

Basic Course Information

Learning Objectives
  • Define a values-based approach to corporate governance
  • Examine the benefits from promoting empathy
  • Discuss best practices for creating cultural change
  • Review strategies for increasing worker satisfaction and productivity

Major Subjects
  • Employee engagement
  • Values-based governance
  • Organizational culture
  • Employee relations

Course Materials

Faculty

Charla Welch's Profile

Charla Welch Related Seminars and Products


Charla is a former practicing attorney who transitioned to HR. She has experience both in-house and as an external counselor, with extensive expertise in Employee Relations (including performance management, discipline, dispute resolution, labor negotiations, investigations and compliance), Policy & Process Design, and Training. Since moving from California to Austin five years ago, Charla has been consulting with numerous organizations of all sizes across multiple industries on a wide range of HR concerns. Her clients would say she’s a solutions-driven consultant, with the unique ability to be detail-oriented and act in the moment, while remaining attuned to long-term business objectives. She is as skilled and comfortable interacting with the c-suite as she is explaining HR basics to front-line supervisors. Charla has served as chief negotiator for agencies in labor negotiations, working in confidence with city councils and boards to understand their vision and bring it to fruition at the bargaining table, while maintaining awareness of relevant laws and strategic considerations. Given her integrity and exceptional work product, Charla establishes strong working relationships quickly, serving as a skilled coach and trusted advisor.

Charla obtained her bachelor degree in Speech Communication (with a concentration on Organizational Communication and minor is International Business) before achieving a juris doctorate from the University of San Francisco School of Law. She passed the California bar exam on her first try and practiced at a medium sized law firm, where her experience included advice and counsel in nearly all areas of employment law, such as: Title VII / state discrimination laws, the ADA, the FLSA, the FMLA / state leave laws, contractual disputes, employee handbooks and numerous other employment laws and labor regulations. Since founding her HR consulting practice, Cultivate People, she has chosen to go on inactive status with the bar.
 


Dates

Wed, Apr 24, 2024 - 06:00am to 07:09am AKDT
Sat, May 11, 2024 - 08:00am to 09:09am AKDT
Wed, May 15, 2024 - 06:00am to 07:09am AKDT
Wed, Jun 05, 2024 - 06:00am to 07:09am AKDT
Thu, Jun 06, 2024 - 01:00pm to 02:09pm AKDT
Wed, Jun 26, 2024 - 06:00am to 07:09am AKDT
Sat, Jul 13, 2024 - 08:00am to 09:09am AKDT
Wed, Jul 17, 2024 - 06:00am to 07:09am AKDT
Thu, Aug 01, 2024 - 03:00pm to 04:09pm AKDT
Wed, Aug 07, 2024 - 06:00am to 07:09am AKDT
Wed, Aug 28, 2024 - 06:00am to 07:09am AKDT
Sat, Sep 14, 2024 - 08:00am to 09:09am AKDT
Wed, Sep 18, 2024 - 06:00am to 07:09am AKDT
Thu, Oct 03, 2024 - 01:00pm to 02:09pm AKDT
Wed, Oct 09, 2024 - 06:00am to 07:09am AKDT
Wed, Oct 30, 2024 - 06:00am to 07:09am AKDT
Sat, Nov 09, 2024 - 08:00am to 09:09am AKST
Wed, Nov 20, 2024 - 06:00am to 07:09am AKST
Thu, Dec 05, 2024 - 03:00pm to 04:09pm AKST
Wed, Dec 11, 2024 - 06:00am to 07:09am AKST
Tue, Jan 14, 2025 - 07:00am to 08:09am AKST
Mon, Jan 27, 2025 - 09:00am to 10:09am AKST
Wed, Feb 05, 2025 - 11:00am to 12:09pm AKST
Wed, Feb 26, 2025 - 05:00am to 06:09am AKST
Sat, Mar 01, 2025 - 07:00am to 08:09am AKST
Tue, Mar 18, 2025 - 03:00pm to 04:09pm AKDT
Wed, Apr 09, 2025 - 11:00am to 12:09pm AKDT
Mon, Apr 21, 2025 - 05:00am to 06:09am AKDT
Wed, May 07, 2025 - 07:00am to 08:09am AKDT
Wed, May 28, 2025 - 09:00am to 10:09am AKDT
Fri, Jun 06, 2025 - 11:00am to 12:09pm AKDT
Fri, Jun 13, 2025 - 05:00am to 06:09am AKDT
Sat, Jun 14, 2025 - 07:00am to 08:09am AKDT
Tue, Jun 24, 2025 - 03:00pm to 04:09pm AKDT

Additional Info

Basic Course Information

Prerequisites None
Advanced Preparation None
Designed For HR Professionals
Original Recording Date 05/12/2022
Yellow Book No
Course Developer Charla Welch
Date Added to Catalog 05/23/2022

Additional Information

Complaint Resolution Policy

Please contact Anne Taylor for any complaints. anne.taylor@acpen.com, (972-377-8199). 


Official Registry Statement

Business Professionals' Network, Inc. is registered with the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA) as a sponsor of continuing professional education on the National Registry of CPE Sponsors. State boards of accountancy have final authority on the acceptance of individual courses for CPE credit. Complaints regarding registered sponsors may be submitted to the National Registry of CPE Sponsors through its website: www.nasbaregistry.org


Instructional Delivery Method

Group Internet Based


Course Registration Requirements

Online Registration


Refund/Cancellation Policy

Please contact the ACPEN help desk 1-877-602-9877 or help@acpen.com if you wish to cancel your attendance for a previously purchased webcast and are requesting a refund or transfer. 


Promo Video

Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

Overall:      4.6

Total Reviews: 11

Comments

Jason B - Lafayette, Indiana

"Nice job Charla."

Linda F - Ann Arbor, Michigan

"Good presentation and very relevant."